“A photograph is usually looked at, seldom looked into.” – Ansel Adams

A photo collection by Tess Niedermeyer

For as long as I can remember, I can see my mom’s curly fro hair flapping over her black and silver 1970 Olympus Camera taking photos of my siblings and I as we jumped into the pool, waited in the Emergency Room with a broken wrist, wore our first Halloween outfit (a bunny), lost our two front teeth (so embarrassing), or went to our first formal dance (even more embarrassing). When I embarked on my first road trip last year from California to New York my mom handed me her 35mm camera as a set of new eyes to look through as I set off on my journey. I believe these pieces of memories were the beginning of my love affair with photography. While photographing a friend for my final black and white project she asked why it is I love photography so much. I don’t have a definite answer for this, I probably never will. For now I can say this, I am in love with two things: acting and photography- both art forms which allow me to take a look at life through someone else’s eyes. Rarely do I know this person or the life they come from, but from there all I have to do is daydream.


Leave a Reply

